All It Took Was A Smile.

As I live directly outside the French school, I see a lot of kids and parents milling around outside my house in the morning. Normally I march past them with my headphones in and a polite smile plastered on my face. But this morning, I saw something that absolutely made my day. This little boy, who looked to be about 3 years old, was standing outside the entrance to the pre-school. His mother had just walked off, probably in a rush to get to work, assuming her son had walked in to school by himself. His older brother, around 5 or 6 years old I would assume, was walking off to the other entrance to the elementary school. But instead of walking into the pre-school, this little toddler waddled out of the entrance and up to his older brother and tapped him on the shoulder with a strange melancholic expression on his round, cherubic face. The older brother turned around, and upon seeing that it was his younger brother, exchanged a few words with him in French. After which, he bent down and hugged his little brother and kissed him on the cheek. While this was happening, the little boy’s eyes met mine and the innocence glimmering in them was so startling that it jolted me out of my morning daze. I just couldn’t help but smile at the love these two brothers had. That simple kiss, that simple hug. So innocent, yet so full of love. Nowadays, we are constantly caught up in our own worries and our own problems that we don’t have time to just let go and live in the moment. No matter how cliché that sounds, it just goes to show that even the most simple, most mundane acts can be seen, if considered deeply, to possess the most magical qualities. Just thought I should share this little golden nugget of joy and that it would brighten your day, like it did mine!

Ivana x

4 thoughts on “All It Took Was A Smile.

  1. This is sooo beautiful. Made me smile reading it too. My two boys have a big age gap, the young one is almost 8 months and my first is six and a half years. I often wonder what kind of relationship they will have and if they will be close, because they are years apart. I see a lot of the caring (almost parental) side from my older one coming through 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Everyone has intelligent opinions, leave yours.

